Mix it all up into one big delicious mess, then dig in!

Bibimbap

I am a little obsessed with Bibimbap. I’d go as far as to say that it’s my favourite Korean food – but it always concerns me when I make grand statements like that because I’m worried I’ve said that about another Korean recipe I’ve previously shared. No one’s ever accused me of being unenthusiastic, that’s for sure! 😂 Bibimbap is one of the most well known Korean dishes. A rice bowl topped with all sorts of seasoned sautéed vegetables, marinated meat (usually beef), a fried egg sunny side up, finished with a sprinkle of sesame and generous dollop of a sweet-spicy-savoury Bibimbap sauce. <- Heads up, this sauce is so awesome, you can basically use any vegetables and any meat and your Bibimbap is going to be delish!

Lengthy – but repetitive!

There’s no denying it – this recipe has more components to it than my quick ‘n easy one pot meals because all the toppings are seasoned and cooked separately. But the simple seasonings are largely repetitive and it is a very straightforward, leisurely recipe you can start and stop as you please because it’s MEANT to be served at room temp! I’m going to walk through each of the components here, but if you’re feeling impatient, just skip ahead to the recipe!

Bibimbap Sauce

It’s probably not “normal” to start with the Bibimbap Sauce, but I am because I think it makes this dish. You can use any vegetables and any protein (even tofu) and your bibimbap will still be SO GOOD once it’s all mixed up with the rice and this sauce!

Skip to the recipe

Marinated Beef

Nowadays, you’ll find Bibimbap with all sorts of meat toppings but the traditional version is made with thinly sliced beef. The beef seasoning is usually a slightly toned down version of Bulgogi (Korean Marinated Beef). We don’t need big flavour on the beef because the Bibimbap Sauce adds tons of flavour. Some recipes even use just basic soy-garlic-sesame oil combination. But I like each component on my Bibimbap to be tasty enough to eat on its own so I use a scaled back Bulgogi marinade. The unique ingredient in Bulgogi is grated apple – this is a signature technique used in Korean marinades to add flavour, sweetness and tenderise! Nashi pear is also commonly used. Totally! Chicken, turkey or pork finally sliced or cut into thin strips, small prawns/shrimp or even fish fillets (cook whole then flake).

Skip to the recipe

Bibimbap Vegetables

This is the part that some people find tedious but I don’t find to be a big deal at all – cooking each of the vegetables individually. Here’s how it goes down:

Shiitake mushrooms – soak in boiling water, then slice and sauté with garlic, soy and sugar. Fresh also ok, but dried has more intense flavour. Zucchini and carrot – cut into batons, optional to sprinkle with salt then leave for 20 minutes (I often skip this), then sauté until soft. Spinach – chop then sauté, super quick! Beansprouts – steam or boil until wilted, squeeze out excess liquid then season with garlic, sesame and fish sauce OR soy sauce.

Simple, right?? Get two pans going if you’re impatient!

Skip to the recipe So. Many. Options! Here are some suggestions to replace the vegetables I use:

Dried shiitake – sub with any fresh mushrooms Carrot and zucchini – sub with asparagus, green beans, broccolini (halve lenthgwise), snow peas (slice, peppers/capsicum Spinach and bean sprouts – kale, silverbeet, cabbage (sliced), leafy Asian greens

Assembling Bibimbap

My favourite part! (Aside from eating it of course… and breaking the yolk… and mixing it all up… OK fine. It’s my 4th favourite part!) There are no rules about the order in which the vegetables and meat get placed on the rice, but try to use alternating colours just to make it look as good as it tastes. 😇

Skip to the recipe

How to eat Bibimbap

Part of the whole Bibimbap experience is how the bowl comes to you looking as pretty as a picture, then you get to dollop on as much Bibimbap Sauce as you want (I use about 2 tbsp), then after all that hard work preparing the bowls, you mix it all up and turn it into a delicious mess. That first mouthful… I try to get a bit of everything, including a bit of runny yolk. Then after that, I don’t care – I just get stuck into it. 😂

I was going to sign off there, but I better leave you with a slightly neater photo of Bimbimbap. 😂 – Nagi x PS If the photos haven’t convince you, the video surely will!↓↓↓

Watch how to make it

The spicy side of life: Korean recipes

Life of Dozer

Yes Dozer. I am absolutely going to play tug of war with you, with that furry toy that’s soaked with your slobber. (Not! 😂)

Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 45Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 88Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 73Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 19Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 32Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 9Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 7Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 25Bibimbap   Korean Rice Bowl  - 41