Caprese salad is a brilliant example of Italian genius-ness: combining a few simple ingredients that go together so well it makes you want to do the happy dance with every bite. Just tomato, buffalo mozzarella/bocconcini, basil and balsamic vinegar. I’m in the syrupy balsamic camp, but plain is fine too! I make Caprese salad on platters to serve as a shared appetizer. I thread it onto skewers for finger food. I make toasted sandwiches, toss it through pasta. I even stuff it into chicken breast – have you tried that before? Mmmm….it is SO GOOD! How is it that it was only a few weeks ago that I thought to have it for breakfast in baked egg form??

Beans in a fragrant tomato sauce with fresh bursts of basil. Eggs gently baked in the sauce, topped with beautifully blistered cherry tomatoes. Bocconcini cheese – some melted, some fresh. A scattering of fresh basil, a drizzle of syrupy balsamic and…..woah….. Breakfast Caprese. With the added bonus of runny yolk to dip your crusty bread in. 😉 (And let’s just get the obvious out of the way – that’s not my Baby Hands. It’s my mother’s. Pity she didn’t pass her hand-genes down to me. 😆)

I had a very fleeting moment when I fretted that these Caprese Baked Eggs looked “too messy” to share. But you know what? I have never and will never choose my recipes based on how pretty they are. It might look a mess, but this is a beautiful mess. What a way to start a Sunday morning! Stay in your PJ’s. Bottomless coffee. Who needs to go to out to a posh bistro for brunch? – Nagi x

LIFE OF DOZER

Mode 1 of 4: sleeping. (The other 3 modes are: playing, eating, hoping to eat)

SaveSave SaveSave

Caprese Baked Eggs - 81Caprese Baked Eggs - 41Caprese Baked Eggs - 37Caprese Baked Eggs - 89Caprese Baked Eggs - 6Caprese Baked Eggs - 50Caprese Baked Eggs - 42Caprese Baked Eggs - 78