URGENT, URGENT!!! DID YOU SAVE YOUR HAM BONE???!!!!! I forgot to remind you!đŸ˜© In all the kerfuffle* trying to get a Dozer/Nagi Christmas selfie + last minute present shopping not to mention all the last minute changes to the Christmas menu that was decided on the fly on Christmas Eve, resulting in a large part of that day being spent running around from store to store, battling the crowds. We even bought a food processor the day before Christmas. Just because homemade pate* and Roasted Cauliflower with Almond Puree** got added to the menu, then we realised my mother didn’t have a food processor. 🙄 Only a food blogging family would do something crazy like that. Normal families would have made do. Instead, in our family, somebody (probably me) screeched “MUM, how can you not have a food processor???!!!” . Then somebody (probably my brother) proceeded to bash away on the internet to find a good one, hunt down a store with it in stock, then we all jumped in the car to race to the store to get it. And all this is a long winded way of saying that in the Christmas madness, I forgot to send out a simple reminder to save the ham bone from your Christmas Ham because this year, we’re going to make a Ham Bone Chinese Rice Soup (Congee!!!) which is all of 3 ingredients, takes all of 3 minutes to prepare and tastes so unbelievably good, it made me do the jiggy. Ham bone = most incredible stock ever. Just wait until you try it!!!

  • This was my request. Because homemade pate is out of this world good. And if you can’t put in food requests on Christmas Day, when can you, eh? 😈 **  This was an addition by someone sensible who pointed out that we didn’t have much green stuff on the Christmas menu. To which I responded stubbornly “Make what you want, but you can’t use the oven or the stove cause they’re taken!”, so in the end we made this Roasted Cauliflower recipe using the outdoor BBQ.

I haven’t filmed the Ham Bone Congee yet, so it will be coming to you sometime next week. I need to get my hands on another leftover ham bone. I have put the feelers out and am expecting a delivery sometime this week, upon which I’ll make the video then publish the recipe. I think the video will be handy so you can see how the rice breaks down and how thick the soup should be. So for now, pop your ham bone in the freezer and let me show you what I’ve made with all that leftover Christmas ham. Are you ready? 🙂 Here it is.

Let me introduce you to your new favourite breakfast: Cheese and Ham Pancakes. Crispy and cheesy on the outside. Fluffy on the inside with pops of ham and cheesy goodness. A dollop of sour cream, little sprinkle of green onions and crispy bits of cooked ham.

That moment when you cut into it and shovel a huge forkful into your mouth, being sure it’s generously smeared with sour cream
 It’s a little Christmas miracle all over again.

WHAT A WAY TO TRANSFORM LEFTOVER HAM!!!!! Mind you, there is nothing wrong with a good ole’ ham sandwich. In fact, a leftover Christmas ham sandwich is the best of the best of all sandwiches, in my humble opinion. Though hot on its heels is a cheese and ham jaffle, made using an old school jaffle maker – none of those fancy sandwich presses, thanks! Nope, we use Wonder White sandwich bread, lashings of butter on both sides, pile on the ham and cheese as high as you dare, then use both hands and every muscle in your arms plus body weight to squeeze the clamp shut and let the jaffle maker do its work. So, sandwiches first. Then once you’re sandwiched out, try these Cheese and Ham Pancakes. And if you’re out of ham, just use regular store bought ham or BACON! I hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas!!! Thank you for all the lovely Christmas messages! I am slowly making my way through them, now that I have emerged from my Christmas coma. đŸ˜” Back to reality!! – Nagi x

 

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

Tearing into a Christmas present to reveal his new (current) favourite toy.

My poor hands.

SaveSave SaveSaveSaveSave SaveSaveSaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 72Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 23Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 85Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 11Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 40Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 89Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 19Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 30Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 19Cheese and Ham Pancakes - 45