When I posted before and after shots of the empty baking pan to my Instagram story, with the confession that we’d eaten them for dinner, you didn’t respond with the raised-eyebrows emoji or logical statements like “What kind of adult eats enchilada fries for dinner?” Not you, my fellow oven-fry champions. You responded with encouragement, mutual understanding, and, best of all, an immediate recipe request. A few of your Instagram story replies: “When is this recipe coming out?” “Been there. Done that.” “Best night ever!” And my personal favorite: “Can you send me the recipe? I want my husband to make these for me!” We are chicken enchilada fry people, you and I. Ben’s parents threw a huge game watch on Sunday, and these Chicken Enchilada Fries fit right in with the spread. They’re easy, cheesy, and scalable to any size of crowd, even the rowdy 24-person crew that occupied my in-laws’ living room from 3 p.m. to the wee hours of the morning. Or, if you don’t have any plans to watch football at all, Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries also make a fabulous, if semi-naughty, weeknight feast, as I personally can attest. The fries are baked, not fried (redemption!), and I did use sweet potatoes instead of white (extra vitamins!). Plus, chicken and black beans are lean sources of protein. We are definitely in acceptable dinner territory here, are we not? I can hear you nodding. Let’s do this. To give the sweet potato fries loads of flavor, I tossed shredded chicken in its red enchilada sauce, then scattered it over the sweet potato fries. From there, I loaded on even more Tex-Mex fixings—black beans, corn, jalapeños, and plenty of shredded cheese—then popped the tray into the oven. A few agonizing minutes later, the fries transformed into a hot, cheesy mess of enchilada enchantment, and my kitchen smelled like a fiesta. To keep the Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries quick and easy to make (a must for me with any party recipe because I’m usually way behind schedule as it is), I took a shortcut and used bagged frozen sweet potato fries. You can certainly swap homemade sweet potato fries if you prefer (these oven baked Sweet Potato Fries are THE BEST).

Recipe Adaptations

Chicken Enchilada Nachos. Swap in tortilla chips for the sweet potato fries.Chicken Enchilada Fries. Swap in regular white potato fries for the sweet potato fries.Chicken Enchilada Fries with Avocado. When you fries have finished baking, scatter dollops of guacamole or avocado slices over the top.

More Game Day Recipes

Mozzarella SticksJalapeno PoppersTater TotsCrispy Baked Fries

All-purpose rimmed baking sheet (a must-own)Stacked mixing bowls

Whether or not you plan to watch football this Sunday (or any day), don’t let that stop you from giving these Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries a go. Game or no game, they are a winner!

Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries  So Cheesy     WellPlated com - 65Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries  So Cheesy     WellPlated com - 13Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries  So Cheesy     WellPlated com - 34Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries  So Cheesy     WellPlated com - 1Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries  So Cheesy     WellPlated com - 74Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries  So Cheesy     WellPlated com - 10Chicken Enchilada Sweet Potato Fries  So Cheesy     WellPlated com - 6