Gasp, shock horror, I’m finally posting a salad! Long overdue….so much for my New Years’ resolution to post more green things here on RecipeTin Eats.🙌🏼 Can I be honest? I’ve actually made and photographed a handful of salads….salads with oomph, not wimpy ones. I mean salads that are healthy but still truly satisfying to have as meals. I write up the recipe and even schedule it to publish….then I get distracted by something I’m even more excited about. Like that Baked Chinese Sesame Chicken I shared a couple of weeks ago. I actually had the slot reserved for a Buffalo Chicken Salad, but it got bumped at the last minute because I made the Sesame Chicken the day before and I got overly excited about it. Oops. So much for a professional editorial calendar. I could never run a proper magazine. Can you imagine?? Changing my mind at the last minute like that! But today I’m sticking to my guns because Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing is seriously worthy of having as meal. And it all comes down to this – the creamy avocado dressing. 🙌

Beautiful ripe avocado and a handful of other ingredients to make a luscious avocado dressing that actually tastes like avocado. I used to make avocado dressing with buttermilk, using that to thin it out to a dressing consistency. But then one day my sister was around, and in her usual form, she opened the fridge and started poking around for things to eat. Spied a tub of avocado dressing, stuck her finger in for taste, scrunched up her nose and said “This doesn’t taste like avocado.” In response to which, I instantly stuck my finger in for a taste, ready to argue….and realised….it didn’t. At least, not enough like avocado. Buttermilk was the problem. The flavour was too intense, it overpowered the avocado. So I fixed my recipe. 🙂 I make this salad with a tasty chicken which is seasoned for extra flavour. I really think it is worth making a basic spice rub to flavour chicken for salads. Makes salads extra interesting!

And it’s carb free. And cheese free. Miracle of miracles! 🙂 I promise to share more healthy, lower calorie meals in 2016. My recipes aren’t typically cream / butter heavy unless it’s for a special treat. But I have a whole repertoire of lower calorie, more nutrition dense recipes. I am seriously thinking about increasing my weekly recipe posts from 3 to 4, and making the extra recipe a healthy one. What do you think? Do you want to see more healthy recipes here on RecipeTin Eats? – Nagi x PS That’s healthy…..without compromise! I can’t compromise flavour for calories…I just can’t. It’s not in my DNA!!!

MORE CHICKEN SALADS YOU’LL LOVE

Lemon Chicken Salad Chicken Pasta Salad Hawaiian Chicken Salad Chinese Chicken Salad Thai Chicken Salad Mexican Avocado Chicken Salad More giant Salads for Meals

PS I have included Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing in the RecipeTin LITE category (which is only for recipes <500 calories) on the basis that I doubt you will use all the avocado dressing. 🙂

Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing - 95Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing - 72Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing - 85Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing - 10Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing - 78Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing - 3Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing - 37