For a No Knead version, make this recipe using the No Knead Bread Rolls recipe – super easy!

I invited my mother over for brunch today. Wanting her to taste test a few things I was experimenting with. Well, truth be told, I was having a big cooking day and wanted a kitchen-hand. Within a few minutes of arriving and discovering the real reason I asked her over, she disappeared outside on the pretence of playing with my dog (works every time). When I peeked outside, there she was, laying back on my sun lounge. No dog toys in sight.

When these Double Cheese and Bacon Rolls were ready, I called her inside. This is how the conversation went: “Where did you get these from?,” she asked. “What?!”, I gasped, offended. “I MADE them”, I said indignantly. “Really?”, she said, dubiously. “They look just like the ones you get from Bakers Delight.” (Chain Bakery in Australia) “That’s the whole point!”, I exclaimed. “But these are better. Because there’s no preservatives in them. And there’s DOUBLE cheese and bacon in them.”

The idea to stuff rolls with extra cheese and bacon came about after making a batch just topped with cheese and bacon when I had a few friends-with-kids around a few weeks ago. Anything with bacon bits in them always seems to appeal to kids! While they seemed to enjoy them, when I had a bite, I thought it was a bit boring and in fact, probably needed to be split in half and buttered. The thing is, there is only so much bacon and cheese you can put on top of the rolls. Because otherwise the topping is too thick. Yes, there is such thing as too much cheese and bacon. Especially when the rolls have cooled and the cheese hardens. A thick layer of cold cheese is not very nice. 🙂 So I decided to add more flavour into these by stuffing them with cheese and bacon. I don’t bake with yeast very often. Though easy, it does require time and patience. But some things are worth it. These are definitely worth it! Plus, it’s not like anything you can get at the stores – at least, certainly not here in Australia! Double hit of bacon and cheese. DO IT! – Nagi

  SaveSave

Double Cheese and Bacon Rolls - 43Double Cheese and Bacon Rolls - 76Double Cheese and Bacon Rolls - 71Double Cheese and Bacon Rolls - 66Double Cheese and Bacon Rolls - 7