These sky-high muffins are moist, healthy, and an ideal bridge between the fall that is still here and the holidays that are to come. Made with molasses, whole wheat flour, and a heap of holiday spices, their flavor is rich, warm, and even tempted me to turn on the Christmas music (too soon?). At the same time that these muffins ring a holiday bell, however, they also honor fall. I squeezed every bit of sweet, crisp apple into the batter that it could possibly hold. The result is a fruit-studded, cinnamon-spiced muffin that’s part harvest, part holiday, and wholly November.

Making Gingerbread Apple Muffins

The recipe for these Gingerbread Apple Muffins are based off of my favorite Dark Chocolate Gingerbread Muffins. Although I fully support muffins studded with melting puddles of dark chocolate at breakfast, that extra indulgence feels a little more December to me. It’s still November, so for now, I’m still all about the apples. I did, however, keep the sparkly sugar muffin topping. Although it is optional, the muffins themselves are not very sweet, so I find it provides the right balance. I’m also completely smitten with the way the sugar turns into a yummy, lightly crunchy “lid” that I can pull apart with my fingers. Also, the sparkle. ? The holidays are coming, after all. These Coffee Cake Muffins are another delicious, festive muffin recipe for cinnamon spice lovers. These Gingerbread Apple Muffins are freezer friendly, so if you are baking a batch (or a double batch), you can easily stow some away for quick, healthy breakfasts later on and for holiday guests too. I have everything you need to know about storing and freezing muffins in my guide How to Store Muffins, so be sure to check it out as well.

More Delicious Muffin Recipes

Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip MuffinsApple Carrot MuffinsHealthy Blueberry MuffinsYou can find even more ideas in this Healthy Muffin Recipes post!

Muffin tins: I love these for their handy lid and these for their even baking.Large scoop: My secret to tall, extra-fluffy muffins. Gingerbread Apple Muffins - 38Gingerbread Apple Muffins - 56Gingerbread Apple Muffins - 36Gingerbread Apple Muffins - 99Gingerbread Apple Muffins - 53Gingerbread Apple Muffins - 54