Risotto is one of those recipes that I made often when Ben and I were first married but slowly drifted away from over time. Perhaps it was the onset of practicality. I began to feel like eating a plate of starchy grains showered in cheese on an average weeknight might not be the best long-term healthy eating strategy, especially since the two of us had a stellar record of polishing off the entire pot in a single sitting. I still love to order risotto when I’m out or cook it for friends. For a regular weeknight affair, however, today’s vegan risotto recipe is the one you’ll be finding on my stove from now on. Thanks to a few sneaky ingredients, this dairy free quinoa risotto delivers the decadence that makes risotto its wonderful self but is higher in protein, 100% whole grain, and packed with generous servings of veggies too!

The Inspiration for Creamy Vegan Risotto with Asparagus and Quinoa

I’m not sure how the idea of making risotto with quinoa instead of rice crept its way into my brain, but it stuck. I liked the fact that, in comparison to rice, quinoa is noticeably higher in protein. I’m a sucker for all-in-one meals, so I reasoned that if I could add enough protein to the vegan risotto, it would be substantial enough to serve as a main course. Because quinoa isn’t a starchy grain like rice, I knew I’d need to come up with an alternative way to make the vegan risotto creamy. I found my solution in two parts. The first was to cook the quinoa in Almond Breeze almond milk Original Unsweetened instead of stock or water. Almond milk is my go-to for a wide range of sweet and savory recipes. I love its creamy texture and mildly nutty flavor. The fact that it’s only 30 calories a cup is also a definite plus when I’m slimming down more decadent dishes. The almond milk turned out to be a perfect pairing with the vegan risotto. Its flavor was lovely, and the resulting quinoa was more rich and creamy, making it the perfect vegan risotto base. Although the quinoa was definitely the creamiest batch I’d ever cooked, I was so adamant that the vegan risotto be reminiscent of a classic risotto I’d order in a restaurant, I took the recipe a step farther by blending together a mixture of cauliflower (bonus veggie sneak!), white beans, fresh lemon, and garlic. Not only was the resulting cauli-bean puree ultra fresh and flavorful, it was fantastically creamy. Once folded into the quinoa, it gave the vegan risotto the indulgent texture I’d been chasing all along. In place of Parmesan, this vegan risotto recipe uses nutritional yeast, which is loaded with nutrients and tastes surprisingly “cheesy.” I regularly add nutritional yeast to my salads and roasted veggies, and you can use it in any one of these recipes with nutritional yeast too. To round out the recipe, I topped my vegan risotto with asparagus, artichokes, and a little additional cauliflower, all of which I roasted in the oven. The caramelized texture of the veggies was a beautiful contrast to the creaminess of the risotto. I also loved how spring-y the asparagus made the vegan risotto taste. I can see this recipe as a great side for Easter, and if you have any vegetarian or vegan guests, a larger serving would be a good option for a hearty main (this Asparagus Casserole is another great option). At any time of year, this basic vegan risotto recipe is flexible. Feel free to swap the asparagus for other in-season veggies or any you might have on hand. I have tasty plans for a vegan risotto with butternut squash in the fall, along with a vegan risotto with mushrooms just as soon as I can make it.

How to Store and Reheat Risotto

To Store. Store leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 days. Store leftover vegetables separately.To Reheat. Reheat the risotto gently in the microwave or on the stove with a splash of almond milk, stock, or water to keep it drying out. Rewarm the vegetables in a low oven or by lightly sautéing them on the stove. You can also microwave the vegetables, though they will become somewhat soggy.

More Risotto Recipes

Farro Risotto with Burst Tomatoes and ParmesanSlow Cooker Risotto with Butternut SquashCreamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and SpinachBeet Risotto

Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 29Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 33Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 80Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 88Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 7Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 69Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 69Vegan Risotto with Quinoa  Asparagus and Cauliflower - 5